What Are Asia's Five Important Regions?

Image credit: Peter Hermes Furian/Shutterstock.com

In terms of both area and population, Asia is the world's largest continent. It has a surface area of roughly 17 million square miles and a population of around four billion people. There are 48 countries in Asia, three of which are transcontinental. Due to its vast size, Asia has been divided into subregions based on a variety of factors, including cultural, political, and economic aspects. Asia is divided into five primary physiographic regions. Central Asia, East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and Western Asia are the regions concerned. Another region can be classified as North Asia, which encompasses the majority of Russia's Siberia and Asia's northeastern regions. Below are detailed descriptions of Asia's five major divisions.

1-Central Asia

  • Tajikistan, 
  • Uzbekistan,
  •  Kazakhstan, 
  • Turkmenistan
  • Kyrgyzstan

West of China, south of Russia, and north of Afghanistan lies Central Asia. The Caspian Sea forms the western border of this region. Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, and Kyrgyzstan are the five countries that makeup Central Asia. Central Asia is commonly referred to as "The Stans" because the names of each of these countries finish in "-stan." The region has a population of slightly over 69.78 million people and encompasses a total area of 1,545,741 square miles. During the Silk Road commerce history, Central Asia played a crucial role in the transportation of products between China and Europe.

2-East Asia 

  • China, 
  • Mongolia, 
  • North Korea, 
  • South Korea, 
  • Japan, 
  • Hong Kong, 
  • Taiwan, Macau
East Asia has been one of Asia's five regions, located east of Central Asia and bordering the East China Sea on the east. China, Mongolia, North Korea, South Korea, Japan, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Macau are the eight nations and areas that makeup East Asia. This region has a total area of 4,571,092 square miles and a population of over 1.641 billion people, accounting for 22% of the global population and 38% of Asia's total population. Many East Asians live in big metropolises such as Beijing and Tokyo.
East Asia's geography varies based on the zone. Mongolia is encompassed by the dry Gobi desert, whereas the interior continental area has a mild temperature. China, the region's largest nation, has both mountains and plateaus, while Japan is known for its hundreds of islands and beaches. East Asia is now seen to have some of the world's most advanced technology, fostering economic development.

3-South Asia

  • Sri Lanka 
  • Bangladesh, 
  • India, 
  • Afghanistan, 
  • Pakistan, B
  • Bhutan, 
  • Nepal, 
  • The Maldives, 
  • Iran
The Indian Ocean to the south, the Bay of Bengal to the east, and the Arabian Sea to the west form a peninsula-like configuration that is surrounded by three bodies of water. The region encompasses the Indian subcontinent as well as neighboring nations. Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Iran, and the Maldives are the nine independent nations that makeup South Asia. The region spans about two million square miles and is home to more than 1.74 billion people, accounting for nearly a quarter of the world's population. South Asia also holds the distinction of being the world's most densely inhabited region.

4- SouthEast Asia

  • Sri Lanka,
  •  Bangladesh, 
  • India, 
  • Afghanistan, 
  • Pakistan, 
  • Bhutan, 
  • Nepal, 
  • The Maldives, 
  • Iran

Southeast Asia borders Australia to the north, East Asia to the south, the Pacific Ocean to the west, and the Bay of Bengal to the east. It consists of many island and archipelago states that spread between the northern and southern hemispheres, making it the only Asian area that spans both hemispheres. Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste, and Vietnam are the 15 nations and territories that makeup Southeast Asia.

5-Western Asia

  • Georgia, 
  • Armenia, 
  • Azerbaijan, 
  • Turkey, 
  • Cyprus, 
  • Syria, 
  • Lebanon, 
  • Israel, 
  • Palestine, 
  • Jordan, 
  • Iraq, 
  • Oman, 
  • Yemen, 
  • Kuwait, 
  • Bahrain, 
  • Qatar, 
  • Saudi Arabia
West Asia is situated between Central Asia and Africa, south of Eastern Europe. Despite the fact that it geographically excludes Egypt's mainland, the majority of the region is referred to as the Middle East (Which Is Culturally Considered A Middle Eastern Country). The 18 countries that makeup West Asia include Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Cyprus, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, Jordan, Iraq, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, and Yemen. It also includes the Sinai Peninsula in Egypt. The region is home to 313.428 million people and spans 2.415 million square miles.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post